The quick and dirty: Crackulous was developed right here on our forum, on our SVN server. Anyone selling Crackulous or claiming to be the developer is trying to scam you. The official Cydia repository to get Crackulous is http://cydia.hackulo.us. Crackulous is and will always be FREE SOFTWARE. It has had NO OTHER developers but SaladFork and Angel, with contributions from Uncon. If you need more details than this, keep reading:
Update: The scammer turned out to be Haklab, trying to drive traffic back to his blog. Move along, nothing to see here.
------------------------------
The old post:
Well, we certainly could have seen this one coming from a mile away. A person I've nicknamed PatheticBoy has registered a Crackulous domain name, the name 'Crackulous' on most major social networks, an E-mail address, etc. He's claiming that he wrote Crackulous, and he's charging $10 for it. PatheticBoy is also trying to make people believe that people offering it for free have put viruses in it that can mysteriously "steal all your passwords". Obviously, this is a giant scam. According to PatheticBoy's fake Twitter account, he's already gotten at least $40 out of it. (If you're one of those people, remember that you can redact your Paypal payments to get your money back!)
If you'd like to fight back against PatheticBoy, just tweet "@spam Crackulous" from your Twitter account, report the domain crackulous.net on Google's Blogger Abuse Page (Piracy, Spam, take your pick for the report reason), and generally get the word out that Crackulous is an official (and free) Hackulo.us product, from our very own Angel.
We've had well over 20,000 legitimate downloads, so his 4 isn't much of a penetration -- but hey, it's fun to virtually punch pathetic losers like this in the face
The original Crackulous announcement

Sign In
Register
Help


This topic is locked



the pig is running...
MultiQuote











